Week 12 Main Blog: The End of the Road (Sort of)

This is it. This is the end.

12 weeks. Almost 46 pieces of written work at the end of it. And so much more learnt in that period of time.

I joined this course, because I wanted to get to know this city. To get its metaphorical blueprints. And because I loved to write, and felt like this exercise would be a great way to learn. And now at the end of it I can actually say that I feel a lot more connected to this city than I had before the start of it.

I can now see beyond the shiny urban façade that all cities wear, I can see the hardwork that goes into maintaining the city. I see the people who keep the city functioning (either by working with the system or against it) I see the cogs in the machinery and how they toil, I can even see the holes in the system and the vulnerable areas that still need to be worked upon. Toronto isn’t perfect. It isn’t even close to it. No place is. But I am starting to understand it better, and it’s a lot more familiar to me now than it was at the start of this course.

I learnt a lot through this course. I have always wanted to start a blog, but somehow never actually got started. It was 4 weeks into writing this that I realized that anyone can see our blogs. Its not just limited to this class, but in the future, someone may just stumble upon these blogs while scrolling through WordPress – and the words we wrote for grades and credit, may mean something a lot more to them. Maybe they will learn something, think about something in a way they never thought about before or maybe even motivate them to so something of their own. A cascading reaction. An unwitting pay-it-forward method for social change.

This may be a tad unrealistically positive, yet that is what this particular course has done to me. It has convinced me that our voice makes a difference, and that we should use it actively to incite the change we want to see in the world. It is incredibly easy to whine about the TTC’s terrible time schedules, or the city’s apparent apathy towards the homeless, whilst chatting with friends over Ice Caps. It’s a whole another story to decide to sit in front of a computer and write about, to think actively about how everyone can help.

Even deciding to contribute to the conversation is important.

I know that I want to continue to blog about social justice issues. I don’t know how often I will be doing it (probably not 4 pieces of work each week), but I know that now that I am part of the conversation, leaving it is no longer an option.

I also know that I don’t want to limit myself to simply social justice issues – I also want to rant about the mediocre quality of Marvel movies, and about the best places to get very specific types of food. But that is stuff for the future

Leave a Reply

